Bad luck bunny


Life was pretty simple back in the day.

The other week, the Maiden had a Very Bad Day.

My Mommy Sense tingled when I saw her sitting in time-out that afternoon in the schoolyard. Turns out she’d threatened to punch a friend, which had followed some serious Kindergarten drama about who could play what and who wasn’t welcome in the game, which had followed a friend kicking her, which had followed other miscellany, which had followed the thing that started it all: my lending her my rather flashy hairband to wear. It was so beautiful that it distracted the other kids, and the teacher asked her to take it off.

Without a hairband at all, she felt sad and ugly, she told me. Then she dissolved.

I knew it!” she sobbed. “I should never, never, never have just left that pin on the floor! Now I have bad luck and someone’s going to step on it and hurt their foot!”

Me: ?????

Turns out some silly superstition (“It’s a LEGEND, Mommy!”) she read in a book had suggested that dropping a pin without picking it up brings bad luck other than stabbing your foot on it later:

“See a pin and pick it up,
All the day you’ll have good luck.
See a pin and let it lay,
Bad luck you’ll have all the day.”

So I took her to Sonic for drinks–the cure-all for Maidenish woes–and the opportunity for a Mommy-daughter chat about all the bad things that had happened (hair and friend troubles are as heart-rending at age 5 as they are at age 15). Also for the chance to sing to her along with the cheesy Sonic soundtrack, “I love you just the way you are,” which made us both cry.

But a good-luck cry.

Anyways, we eventually got home, and her new issue of Ranger Rick was in the mail.

“Look!” I said, and explained about luck: sometimes good stuff happens and sometimes bad stuff happens and it’s just the way life is. It has nothing to do with something silly like a pin.

“After all,” I told her, “you thought you were having only bad luck today, but look! You got a slushie and your magazine came in!”

She pondered the sudden influx of good luck. “Hmmm,” she said. “I guess my doll must have picked up the pin while we were at Sonic. That’s why the bad luck went away.”

I guess we’ll never really know.

Leave a Reply

