Alas, poor lover! (Trifextra Challenge, Week 5)


I spent my afternoon playing Shakespeare.

Long story. Actually, short story–33 words, to be exact, as per the requirements of the weekend’s Trifextra Writing Challenge. This photo made me think of poor old Yorick–hence the parody–but I wanted a more metaphorical interpretation, with the skull representing the couple’s confusing and complicated relationship. Without further ado (or much about nothing), here is my submission to my very first Challenge:

“Alas, poor lover! We knew joy fleetingly;

a charade of devastating fantasy, infinite flight;

our souls hath grieving bled a thousand times;

and still, one step unwillingly and yet most willingly I take.”

11 responses to “Alas, poor lover! (Trifextra Challenge, Week 5)

  1. thetwistingkaleidoscope

    And yes. I did fit it to “Alas, poor Yorick!” I am a nerd.

  2. Pingback: It didn’t happen in Frasier (Trifextra Challenge, Week 5, #2) | The Twisting Kaleidoscope

  3. I think we will have quite a few “Alas Poor Yoricks” by Sunday night. Word choice was excellent.

    • thetwistingkaleidoscope

      Thanks! I loved the twist you put on yours–tried multiple times to comment on your blog, but the comments form wasn’t giving me any love. Your blog name is great btw!

  4. Oh that’s lovely — I was expecting humor from the number of (excellent) puns in the lead-in. But that is quite touching.

  5. I like the direction you took. See, I would never have gone there so this is unexpected, but very excellent to me.

  6. You definitely captured that Shakespearean vibe!

  7. thetwistingkaleidoscope

    Thanks! I haven’t touched Shakespeare in years–so much fun. Now I need to reread the play 🙂

  8. Personally enjoyed this 🙂

  9. Thanks for linking up to this weekend’s Trifextra challenge. I love your response to the prompt. Many people channeled Shakespeare, but you took it to the next level, I feel. This is really pretty and well-crafted. Hope to see you back for the weekday challenge on Monday.

Leave a Reply

