Update on the updated updates, or where the heck did that post go?


I have egg on my face, and I’m not referring to the Maiden’s Easter candy. Well, maybe in part, but no-one is supposed to know about that except me, and her Easter basket. And, potentially, my dentist.

A couple weeks ago, WordPress rolled out a new subscribe feature. I grew excited– I hated the Feedburner subscription program, which didn’t work half the time– and I quickly typed out a post explaining my joy, and how to partake thereof.

But I did it wrong, because technology, in a deliberate attempt to make a fool of me, has changed during the years between my role as webmaster for an engineering company and my role as the personal maid to the Maiden.

Minutes before the post was scheduled to publish (I pre-schedule my blog posts– do you really think the Maiden will let me sit and type without interruption for an hour straight in the evening?  Unless Disney is on, which it usually isn’t, and even then it’s iffy?), I caught the error.  Because I was too distracted either by the Maiden’s refusal to go to bed or by the fact that Lost was about to come on (or by the fact that the Maiden was refusing to go to bed when Lost was about to come on), I hurriedly and unthinkingly postponed the scheduled post to the next evening, figuring that I’d have time to hammer out the problem in the next 24 hours.

Of course, I forgot all about it.  I guess Lost was just that good.

I’m totally suing ABC.

The end result was that the unedited, wrongly-linked version was published automatically, before I realized that I’d exposed myself to the general blog-reading public as Computer Illiterate.  I pulled the post and rescheduled it for the end of April to give myself time, but since March went by faster than my daughter ate her Easter candy, I figured I’d better get on this before I repeated my error.

I tried my best, but because of a whole lot of technological business that I don’t understand don’t want to bore you with, I can’t figure out how to give you a decent link to subscribe.  I can, however, point you to the right-hand side of this page, where you can enter your email address in the little box.

And I used to be a webmaster.  Lo, how the mighty have blah, blah, blah.

If it turns out I’m wrong, and there is a way to do it, I’ll be happy.  I’ll look like an idiot, though, which will make me unhappy.  Although that means I’ll be able to write a post about the idiot thing, and idiocy tends to make better blog topics than intelligence.  So I guess it’s all good.

In the meantime, click the button to the right if you want to subscribe, and stay tuned for further idiocy reports.

> Share This
> Follow on Facebook

Leave a Reply

