Weekly wrap-up, June 15


The wacky and wonderful of our world this week.

1.) The Maiden has been at cheerleading camp all week, which means that there is a lot of spirit echoing around the house. “5-6-7-8! Gooooooooooooooooo Cavs!” And I don’t just mean from her. It’s catchy, darn it!

2.) Today the camp ends with a little performance showcasing the kids’ routine. The Maiden was ecstatic because she was chosen to be one of the “stunt” girls who gets hoisted in the air.

I always think of her as tall, but when I line her up next to other 6-year-olds she tends to stand toward the smaller end of the spectrum. Being small is quite the fly in the ointment for this child. I’ve pointed out to her before that not being tall is an good thing sometimes; easier to balance in ballet, for example. Another advantage? Getting to do stunts in cheerleading.

3.) Next week’s camp is a messy art camp/art museum “tour.” She’s been having a fantastic time with all the new experiences this summer. In case you missed it, here’s why we do the schedule-y summer thing.

4.) We put the house on the market this week; so far, no showings, which doesn’t make me happy. What also doesn’t make me happy? Having to dash through the house getting it showing-ready every %&#&*ing morning before we head out for camp, just in case someone comes by. I long for the day when I can once more leave the dishes in the sink, darn it!

5.) I’m thinking of starting to grow my hair out again (it’s a short pixie cut right now). But as my last hurrah, this weekend I’m getting it cut to the shortest ever AND having it colored blonde to see what all the fuss is about. This is a big step, as I’m a natural brunette and have stuck to shades of red, black, and brown (but never grey–HA!) my whole life.

I told the Man he’s getting a hot blonde chick for Father’s Day. Lucky man.

6.) On Saturday, the Man and Maiden are going to Jedi training at the local library. Begun, the summer has.

All in all, it’s been a good week, and it’s shaping up to be a decent weekend, too.

Gooooooo Cavs!

Leave a Reply

